//'s avatar image // / 111990892545227207 Origin link. Source file. This is a reply.
Tags: , , , .

Loved Mirror's Edge. So glad I finally played it.

I really like complex movement in first-person video games and ME is some of the best. It's really well implemented and animated. It doesn't move like Quake (or CPM, Reflex, Warsow etc) - it's more realistic, has different goals - but it's just as satisfying to play.

Story is both a little slight and also well-suited to the scope of the game. If it were any "bigger" it'd be too much I think.

Combat is... not great. Thankfully it isn't the focus, the point. It did hold me up a few times though.

Sound (ambient sound, sound FX) is excellent. Soundtrack (by Solar Fields) is excellent. Nice glassy ambient and IDM-ish stuff.

I dunno. I want to sit here and praise the movement for several thousand words but this is long enough already. Game is fun.'s avatar image // / 111945321599728770 Origin link. Source file.
Tags: , , , .

It took about a week but I think I've managed to untangle Quake 1's projectiles & monster/weapon firing code. (Working with id1 and the progs_dump 3 source). Had to do a few rewrites and make a few checklists to keep it all straight.

Brain's been foggy too, that hasn't helped.'s avatar image // / 111909463177667871 Origin link. Source file. This is a reply.
Tags: , , , .

Thoughts on Red Faction (a few days late): really punishing game. Much easier on PC than it was on console (I doubt I could finish it on the PS2). The final puzzle was a nasty surprise.

I like the idea of the story - a miner on mars getting involved in an uprising against their employer - but I felt it slipping away from me very quickly. The back half of the game in particular I barely remember.

The combat was OK (very easy to die to some of the later enemies), the stealth sections were goofy but interesting, vehicles could be slow to control but were tanky enough to not be annoying. Didn't find any movement tech.

I'd have to play it a few more times to form a real opinion I think. Still, I'm glad I finished it, it was worth the couple of bucks I paid for sure.'s avatar image // / 111897769173118672 Origin link. Source file.
Tags: , , , .

I'm streaming Red Faction (2001 FPS game) again this afternoon over at

Will try to finish it today. I think I'm near the end so this could be a short broadcast.

Parker's Martian Vacation (pt. 2)

Conclusion (ft. a terrifying puzzle)

Twitch's avatar image // / 111872815115989908 Origin link. Source file.
Tags: , , , .

I'm starting a playthrough of Red Faction (2001 FPS game) over on Live in a few minutes.

I made it through about half of Red Faction on the Playstation 2 around a decade ago, have been meaning to finish it since. This time I'll be playing the GOG version on PC (using the Dash Faction mod).

Parker's Martian Vacation (pt. 1)

Completed 2/3rd of the game

Twitch's avatar image // / 111839763576867288 Origin link. Source file.
Tags: , , .

Completed Painkiller (video game, 2004) tonight. It was... OK. Very edgy (of course).

Movement and combat were really fun, environments were beautiful but mostly linear, story was goofy and forgettable. Music was good (though it took me a while to like it). Boss gimmicks could have been explained better.

Seems like a game that might be more fun in short bursts. (Or maybe multiplayer, CPL 2005 style).'s avatar image // / 111790724776663451 Origin link. Source file. This is a reply.
Tags: , , .

First step: figure out how the monsters work, second step: teach the monsters to pick up and use items on the map. (Step two might be asking too much.)'s avatar image // / 111790719758221400 Origin link. Source file.
Tags: , , .

I've spent the last few days working through & partially rewriting the Quake 1 monster code. It's not super complicated stuff but I've never studied anything like it before so it's all new to me.'s avatar image // / 111767850290427051 Origin link. Source file.
Tags: , , , .

Streaming for a bit today over at .

I've refactored / re-written a lot of the QuakeC game code recently so I'm going to test that by running through the standard id1 maps (and maybe some of Than's Deathmatch Dimension).

Mod Testing (running thru id1 & maybe DMD)

Found some bugs and played id1 & DMD 1-6