MTT 237 / In Formation

Posted by Cameron Vanderzanden on in articles, tracklists. Tags: , , , , , , . Fediverse thread. Work file.

MTT237 Spectrogram

More breaks and electro this week, letting tracks run long, something smooth and easy on the ears. This mix features one pretty new track from the Imaginary Pathways album by Lindsheaven Virtual Plaza & SkyTwoHigh on No Problema Tapes and some recent tunes from CPU Records and Kouncil Cuts.

Right-click save-as here or on the spectrogram above to download this mix. This mix is also available at mixcloud.

  1. John Beltran / Venim And Wonder 00:00
  2. R.M / Distant Haze 03:14
  3. J Wax / Cloud City 07:10
  4. DJ Life / Squar 10:22
  5. NULLPTR / Sweet Luna 14:04
  6. Scape One / Instant Relay (Metal Beat Mix) 18:02
  7. Sky Tucker / Lowdness Pon 21:46
  8. IVM² / Planetarium 24:23
  9. TryTry / Suns Locker 28:24
  10. DJ's Friction & Spice / Future Funk 31:54
  11. BFX / Whisper (Original) 37:38
  12. The Exaltics / We Come Around 41:05
  13. BufoBufo / Earthsea 43:47
  14. Norfair / Dreamplay 48:13
  15. Lindsheaven Virtual Plaza & SkyTwoHigh / Grand Meier 51:26
  16. Microlith / Backwards 55:52

Track #3 Cloud City by J Wax, #9 Suns Locker by TryTry, and #13 Earthsea by BufoBufo are all from the Scottish label Kouncil Cuts. I picked those up recently while browsing breakbeat releases on bandcamp; good stuff, go check 'em out.

Two tracks from CPU Records feature in this mix: #5 Sweet Luna by NULLPTR and the final track #16 Backwards by Microlith. NULLPTR's Future Worlds album in particular is excellent, I've been playing it a lot recently. They've got a new EP out as well, Terminus, though I haven't picked that one up yet. (I'll get to it soon).

I might have the name of track #10 Future Funk by DJs Friction & Spice wrong, that could be the A side Rhythm Rockin' instead. I'll have to dig out my copy and check the runout grooves, see if the labels are on the wrong side. The vocal sample leads me to believe the track I played here is Rhythm Rockin'. In any case it's definitely from that linked 12".

Track #15 Grand Meier is from the album Imaginary Pathways by Lindsheaven Virtual Plaza & SkyTwoHigh and was released a few weeks ago on No Problema Tapes. My favorite vaporwave albums tend to sound a little like lost idealized '90s ambient; Imaginary Pathways is a bit like that, I think. It's terrific and I love it. I'm familiar with some of Lindsheaven Virtual Plaza's other work (Rainforest Hill is great) but SkyTwoHigh is new to me. Sadly Lindsheaven Virtual Plaza (Cesar Alexandre) passed away a few months ago and so Imaginary Pathways is a posthumous release. Rest in peace Cesar.

Alright I'm coming up on 10 PM here so it's time to stop writing. I'll be back next week Thursday evening with another mix. Something slower, as usual.


If you've written a response to this post then please let me know the URL:

You can also submit a "comment" webmention by pressing the button below. It may take a day or two for your comment to appear here and a copy of your comment will be stored at