MTT 230 / Gone Under

Posted by Cameron Vanderzanden on in articles, tracklists. Updated . Tags: , , , , , , , , . Fediverse thread. Work file.

MTT230 Spectrogram

Ambient, dub techno, downtempo, IDM, and some old tracker modules. A weird mash of styles. This mix features a couple new-ish tracks from dbacon and Paul Blackford plus a recent remaster from Brothomstates.

This mix is no longer available for download from this website. It is however available at mixcloud.

  1. Dublicator / Forest Of Unknown Thoughts 00:00
  2. Outring / Side 1 05:24
  3. Melotone / Subterranean 08:00
  4. dbacon / Crag Pt. 1 09:43
  5. Orphan / View From Delfgauw 14:04
  6. Rob Williams / This Is Right 18:57
  7. Axiom 23 / Still Studies 22:31
  8. Paul Blackford / Infinite Journey 25:15
  9. Xhale / Mohamira 27:52
  10. Ian o'Brien / Eurydice 32:37
  11. Spiritual South ft. Aurora Dawn / Stars And Rockets 38:32
  12. Darkhalo / Inverse Conscious 43:14
  13. Elysis / Get On A Journey 46:50
  14. Plastikman / Pakard 48:45
  15. Brothomstates / Dekc 53:10
  16. Gosub / Waking Up 58:07

Track #9 Mohamira by Xhale, #12 Inverse Conscious by Darkhalo, and #13 Get On A Journey by Elysis are all old (1998-2000) tracker modules. I think I was holding on to those for the end-of-the-year mod mix, but they sounded good today and I wanted to hear 'em, so here they are.

Track #11 Stars And Rockets by Spiritual South is a cover or re-work of Peter Thomas Sound Orchestra's song of the same name from the Chariots Of The Gods soundtrack. The cover version played here is from the third installment in Ubiquity's excellent Rewind! series. I've warmed to this record over the years - I like it a lot more now than when I first picked it up new. Stars And Rockets and the Spaceboys cover of Space Is The Place are terrific (and of course the two Herbie Hancock covers and the Ryuichi Sakamoto cover, which are what drew me to the record in the first place).

My current favorite in this hour, the highlight of the mix, is Dekc from Brothomstates's newly remastered Kobn-Tich-Ey. I love Dekc and have been hoping for an upgrade to the previous low-quality mp3 version for a long time. The remaster greatly improves the whole album - it was very difficult to make out the detail in some of these tracks before. If you're a fan of moody late '90s IDM then I can't recommend Kobn-Tich-Ey and Brothomstates's other work enough.

I think that's all I have to say right now - this was a weird and diverse selection but I think it works. I like it anyway. I'll be back next week Thursday evening (the 29th) as usual with another episode.


If you've written a response to this post then please let me know the URL:

You can also submit a "comment" webmention by pressing the button below. It may take a day or two for your comment to appear here and a copy of your comment will be stored at