MTT 292 / On The Loose

Posted by Cameron Vanderzanden on in articles, tracklists. Tags: , , , , , , , . Fediverse thread. Work file.

MTT292 Spectrogram

70/140 stuff today. A little dub techno, a little IDM, a whole lot of dubstep. This mix features several classics from the likes of Tectonic Recordings, Punch Drunk Music, and three from Deep Medi Musik. (Plus a newer track by Rings Around Saturn).

Right-click save-as here or on the spectrogram above to download this mix. This mix is also available at mixcloud.

No. Artist / Title Start
01. Access To Arasaka / Kyokko 00:00
02. Micronaut / Systematic 03:58
03. Beat Pharmacy / Pulse Nodes 07:40
04. Vejopatis / Miskais 10:53
05. 2562 / Channel Two 14:20
06. RSD / Kingfisher 19:22
07. Breakage / Late Night 23:28
08. Rings Around Saturn / Goose Step 27:08
09. Timeblind / Backwardation 32:10
10. Distance / Rude Steppa 35:50
11. Kromestar / Marz Attak 39:22
12. Tunnidge / Geddeon 43:02
13. Goth-Trad / Flags 47:33
14. Grenier / Lost Time 52:24
15. Manu Shrine / Sediment 56:59
16. Forest Healing / Daylight Is Gone (Tropical Sadness) 59:57

The four most recent tracks here are #3 Pulse Nodes by Beat Pharmacy from 2019, #8 Goose Step by Rings Around Saturn from 2020, #10 Rude Steppa by Distance from 2021, and #16 Daylight Is Gone by Forest Healing from 2021. All four from very interesting releases: Unusual dub techno, dubstep / ukg, a lost sequel to My Demons, and a giant dark ambient tribute to Silent Hill respectively. All worth a listen.

Track #11 Marz Attak by Kromestar, #12 Geddeon by Tunnidge, and #13 Flags by Goth-Trad are all on the Deep Medi Musik label. Proper classics. I probably heard them at local dubstep nights in 2007-2008 when they were released. (I definitely remember the first time I heard Marz Attak). I'm really glad most of the Deep Medi back catalog is available digitally.

I'm not much of a dubstep DJ really. I don't have a deep collection of the style & I don't know the moves, the correct way to transition these tracks. But I still like to break out a few pieces and play them every now and then, have a good time.

Anyway that's it for September. All of the tracks in this hour are available through bandcamp at the links above so if you hear something you like please consider picking it up, supporting the artists & labels. I'll be back next week at my usual time with some electro, something fast & spooky for October.


If you've written a response to this post then please let me know the URL:

You can also submit a "comment" webmention by pressing the button below. It may take a day or two for your comment to appear here and a copy of your comment will be stored at