MTT 258 / Appropriate Steps

Posted by Cameron Vanderzanden on in articles, tracklists. Tags: , , , , , , . Fediverse thread. Work file.

MTT258 Spectrogram

140 BPM electro & techno. New tracks by My Boyfriend and MachineFunk plus a bunch of old tracks including some long ones by Drexciya, Ectomorph, and Silicon Scally.

Right-click save-as here or on the spectrogram above to download this mix. This mix is also available at mixcloud.

  1. Photodementia / Gyrectomy 00:00
  2. CYWU / Dimensional Contract 02:09
  3. Aux 88 / Electric Light 05:18
  4. My Boyfriend / Algorithm 09:38
  5. Decal / Prepare To Merge 13:02
  6. Plant43 / Ubicomp Malfunction 16:16
  7. MachineFunk / XOR Gate 20:38
  8. Nomadic / Metro-Mover (Extended Mix) 23:51
  9. KT-19941 / Phenomenon 27:59
  10. DMX Krew / Pitch II Pitch 32:06
  11. Ectomorph / Time Fold 36:00
  12. Silicon Scally / Ghost Wires 41:19
  13. Raw Stevens / Type 4748/ab1 45:53
  14. Drexciya / Hydro Cubes 48:28
  15. Silicon / ID0 54:25
  16. E.M.S. / Inc. The Funk 58:19

So the two new tracks here, "new" being 2021 and later, are #4 Algorithm by My Boyfriend and #7 XOR Gate by MachineFunk. Number 2 Dimensional Contract by CYWU is also pretty new, from the 2020 album of the same name. All three of those releases are awesome and worth checking out; I would say the individual tracks included here represent their respective albums well.

Three old tracks from Satamile Records feature in this mix, specifically #5 Prepare To Merge by Decal, #12 Ghost Wires by Silicon Scally, and #16 Inc. The Funk by E.M.S. . It didn't occur to me I had pulled so much Satamile until part way into recording, so this was a bit of a surprise. It's worth going through the Satamile back catalog if you haven't done so before, there's a lot of good stuff in there.

The one track I really wanted to play this week, that I wanted to hear the most, is Ectomorph's Time Fold from their 1995 Stark EP. My copy is I think one of the 1999 represses, black vinyl, ordered off the IT website some time in the mid 2000s. There's a recent remaster of Stark available that's worth picking up (and I still need to snag myself).

And of course sometimes you just have to let Hydro Cubes rip. The copy played here is the black vinyl release of Molecular Enhancement on Submerge. Again mine doesn't sound great, there's some kind of balance issue. The version on Deep Sea Dweller IV sounds better.

Anyway, it's getting late, and that's all I have to say right now. So I'll be back next week with another mix, the evening of Thursday February 10th, as usual. 'till then.


If you've written a response to this post then please let me know the URL:

You can also submit a "comment" webmention by pressing the button below. It may take a day or two for your comment to appear here and a copy of your comment will be stored at